top of page

2017 NECTC Season Awards

The 2017 NECTC season was dominated by a few outstanding athletes who have been in the game for awhile now, while also showing some up and coming talent. These awards recognize the top voted athletes this season.

Male Triathlete of the Year

Spencer Ralston – Saint Michael’s

For the second year in a row Ralston takes home the Male Overall Champion and the Triathlete of the Year award, just edging out West Point's Jacob Slife. Ralston took the overall victory at Lake George and followed it up with second place finishes at both Westchester and Montauk to finish the season in first by 26 points.

Female Triathlete of the Year

Teresa Groton - West Point

With overall wins at West Point, Lake George, Buzzard's Bay and Westchester, Groton had a near perfect season. If not for missing the championship race due to following her professional career, Groton likely would have swept the season series and become the first to win all 5 races in NECTC history. Her undefeated streak was also done in impressive style with large margins of victories.

Male Swimmer of the Year

Jason Hunt - West Point

Absolute domination in the swim this year came from West Point's Jason Hunt. At Lake George Hunt exited the water over a minute ahead of the likes of Jacob Slife and Spencer Ralston. He followed that up with the fastest swims a both Buzzard's Bay and Westchester.

Female Swimmer of the Year

Teresa Groton - West Point

Earning her second award of the year, Groton continually dominated the swim leg of the first four races of the season, in some cases by taking a lead of several minutes onto the bike. With no swim at Montauk, Groton led out of the water in every race this season.

Male Cyclist of the Year

Jacob Slife – United States Military Academy

With the fastest bike splits at both Buzzard's Bay and Lake George, Slife proved himself once again to be the top dog on the bike leg for the second year in a row. It was in this portion of the race that Slife and Ralston separated themselves from the rest of the field.

Female Cyclist of the Year

Ellen Witkowski – Boston University

Witkowski was one of only two athletes to out-split Groton on the bike this season, with a dominating bike leg at Lake George she finished in a time of 1:07:38.

Male Runner of the Year

Nick Chatel - West Point

Finishing in the top three in the run leg in all of the races he competed in this year, Chatel continues to show his strength on the run. Chatel was clearly the most consistent runner this season and it helped lead him to a second place spot on the podium in the end of year rankings.

Female Runner of the Year

Teresa Groton - West Point

Groton nearly swept the female awards this year only barely missing the votes for the cycling leg. Groton had the fastest run splits in every race she competed in the year, and if she had competed in the championship turned duathlon there may have been some more soul crushing running to be had.

Coach of the Year

Amy Maxwell - West Point

In her first full year as head coach of the West Point team Maxwell led both the male and female teams to undefeated seasons, winning all five races on the sides. A perfect score of 500 in the male, female and combined team scores.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page